The 2023 Dean’s Awards Ceremony celebrated outstanding leadership, innovation, community engagement and research among the faculty, staff and students of the Brown University School of Public Health. Recognizing the Dean’s Award winners, as well as the student authors of winning Public Health Research Day posters, the ceremony on April 17 brought together Brown’s public health community for the first ever, in-person all-SPH awards celebration at Providence’s historic Hope Club. 

The School of Public Health Dean’s Awards were celebrated at the Hope Club in April 2023. Credit: Kenneth Zirkel

“Each winner has demonstrated significant dedication to the School and the hard work being done here,” said Aubert. “We are proud to celebrate not only these individuals but also everyone who has worked alongside them to achieve the many successes of the Brown School of Public Health this year.”

The Dean’s Award recipients have shown a “dedication to excellence that goes beyond the expected duties and sets an inspiring example for us all,” said Dr. Megan Ranney, deputy dean of the school. “These awards are a testament to the commitment of our faculty, staff and students in upholding the School’s mission of research, education, and service, and we are truly grateful for all that they do.”

Dean’s Staff Awards

Megan LackieDean’s Office
Excellence in Innovation

Ann ReddyCenter for Gerontology and Health Care Research
Excellence in Leadership

Dean’s Faculty Awards

Madina Agénor Sc.D., MPHEpidemiology, Behavioral and Social Sciences
Excellence in Classroom Teaching

Shufang Sun Ph.D.Behavioral and Social Sciences
Excellence in Research Collaboration

Rosemarie Ann Martin Ph.D.Behavioral and Social Sciences
Excellence in Community Engagement

Jennifer Pellowski Ph.D.Behavioral and Social Sciences
Excellence in Mentoring

CODAC Behavioral Healthcare
Community Partner Award

Award winner Professor Madina Agenor with Interim Dean Ron Aubert.
Award winner Professor Madina Agénor with Interim Dean Ron Aubert. Credit: Kenneth Zirkel
Deputy Dean Dr Megan Ranney with award recipients from CODAC Behavioral Healthcare.
Deputy Dean Megan Ranney with award recipients from CODAC Behavioral Healthcare. Credit: Kenneth Zirkel

Public Health Research Day Poster Awards

Undergraduate Poster Awards

Best Research Day poster recipients Taylor Fortnam, Breanna Richards, and Amos Okutse. Credit: Kenneth Zirkel

First Place: Ennie Zhu

Runner-up (tie): Jihwan Hwang

Runner-up (tie): Liza A. Kolbasov

MPH Poster Awards

First Place: Kylie Khoo

Runner-up: Kristin Koehm

ScM In Biostatistics Awards

First Place (tie): Amos Ochieng Okutse

First Place (tie): Breanna Richards

Centering Community And Cultures Award

Khiara Lee

PhD/MD/Postdoctoral Poster Awards

First Place: Taylor M. Fortnam

Runner-up: Tenzin Yangchen

Large group of faculty, staff, and students
Congratulations to all of the 2023 award recipients! Credit: Kenneth Zirkel